Musiq Soulchild BB Kings Oct 2015

Musiq Soulchild’s Top 10 Best Songs Presented by YouKnowIGotSoul

Musiq Soulchild BB Kings Oct 2015

With the release of Musiq Soulchild’s seventh album “Life on Earth” today, it’s a good time to look back on his career and pick out the Top 10 Best Songs of his career. With many timeless hits and countless impactful songs in his decade and a half career so far, putting together this list is not an easy task. However we look to identify the singles and album cuts that were the most impactful and still stand the test of time.

As we’ve done with a few artists before, here is our personal ranking of Musiq’s best songs. As always, let us know where you agree or disagree!

10) Just Friends (Sunny)

The single that started it all for Musiq Soulchild, this song was included on The Nutty Professor II: The Klumps soundtrack as well as his debut album Aijuswanaseing.

9) 143

Another song from Musiq’s debut album, this one was a real standout album cut.

8) PreviousCats

This Eric Roberson song was a standout from Musiq’s sophomore album “JusListen” and is also a staple during his live shows.

7) TeachMe

This touching ballad was one of Musiq’s most successful and the second single from his fourth album “LuvAnMusiq”.

6) Womanopoly

Musiq’s original collaboration partners Carvin & Ivan helped craft this unique jam which was a standout from his “SoulStar” album.

5) SoBeautiful

Another of Musiq’s timeless ballads, “SoBeautiful” was the second single from his fifth album “OnMyRadio”.

4) B.U.D.D.Y.

Musiq showed his hip hop roots over the Da La Soul sample for this unique uptempo friend anthem.

3) Don’t Change

Another timeless ballad with a touching video, this was the second single from his album “Juslisen”.

2) Half Crazy

Musiq chose “HalfCrazy” as the first single from “Julisen” and it became one of his most successful.

1) Love

This Dre & Vidal produced song has gone on to be one of Musiq’s most successful and memorable. It was included on his debut.

Honorable Mention

-If U Leave (featuring Mary J. Blige)
-Girl Next Door
-Who Knows
-Ms. Philadelphia
-I Do


  • Mysonne says:

    “Dear John” is another one.

  • Daniel Bamber says:

    Music is always a matter of opinions and personal taste. But damn! This list is just wrong. If I’d never listened to Musiq Soulchild, then I wouldn’t think he was all that based of this list. Here’s the TRUTH:

    1) Whoknows
    How this only made yout ‘honourable mentions’ is gobsmacking to me. His best work.

    2) Betterman
    This one’s not even on your back-up list. Astounding! This is classic Musiq doing one of his less slow joints.

    3) Just Friends (Sunny)
    The song that broke Musiq and his song style. Never gets old and a real neo soul classic.

    4) 143
    Just love the way that this song slowly builds to a full “I love you” admission at the end.

    5) Newness
    Again, not even on your back-up list. So, so, so smooth and really captures the feeling of a new flame.

    6) Youloveme
    Now it’s becoming all too clear how different our tastes in Musiq’s music is. Yet ANOTHER that doesn’t even get an honourable mention from you, yet is firmly in my top 10. The bridge just makes this song for me.

    7) Anything
    Far from typical Musiq Soulchild, but an absolute banger in its own right. A feature from Swizz Beatz and guess what – not even a mention from you.

    8) Speechless
    My sentiments exactly that this awesome cut didn’t get so much of a shout out from you. Such a stylish tune.

    9) Ifuleave
    Yes, at least this got an honourable mention from you. Incredibly underrated duet that most people are sleepin’ on.

    10) Girl Next Door
    Just love the slow, summer vibe to this one. Love the production on this one. Good to see you at least gave it a mention – despite it not making your top 10.

    So there we have it. We only share two selections in our ‘Top 10s’.

    It’s all love though!