Nina Simone Revisited

In celebration of the highly anticipated Netflix original documentary “What, Happened, Miss Simone?,” REVIVE Music/RCA Records are proud to announce the July 10th release of NINA REVISITED: A Tribute to Nina Simone album. The 16-track album pays homage to the legendary Nina Simone with re-worked renditions of some of her most popular songs by artists such as Ms. Lauryn Hill, Mary J. Blige, Common, Usher, Jazmine Sullivan, Lisa Simone (daughter of Nina Simone), newcomer Grace, Alice Smith, Gregory Porter and Lalah Hathaway. Find below complete track listing.
NINA REVISITED: A Tribute to Nina Simone, was produced by Jayson Jackson, Suzette Williams and Peter Edge, Grammy Award winners Robert Glasper, who cites Nina Simone as “one of the most important and influential artist ever,” and Ms. Lauryn Hill.
Highlighting Nina Simone’s importance to the civil rights movement of the 60s/70s, political and civil rights icon Angela Davis crafted incredibly moving liner notes in support of the release. The graphic cover art references a red balloon Ms. Simone carried to Marin County Jail while visiting a then incarcerated Ms. Davis sometime in 1971.
All of the renewed interest around what some say might have been the greatest performer of all time, revolves around the highly anticipated Netflix original documentary “What, Happened, Miss Simone?” The film, releasing on Netflix June 26th, produced by Jayson Jackson, Justin Wilkes and Amy Hobby is the first film ever made on the fiery chanteuse fully supported and approved by her Estate. Jackson bridged the story behind the documentary to the idea of creating the tribute album by utilizing a long-standing relationship with Nina Simone’s daughter, Lisa Simone and the Estate. Academy Award-nominated director Liz Garbus explores the classically-trained pianist, black power icon and legendary recording artist through never-before-heard audio tapes recorded over the course of three decades, of Nina telling her life story to various interviewers and would-be biographers.
NINA REVISITED: A Tribute to Nina Simone was primarily recorded at Blast Off Productions utilizing HP’s Z workstation technology – an alliance was born from HP’s POWER UP initiative to celebrate art and innovation – with additional recording and mixing at Red Bull Studios in NYC.
Nina Simone is truly one of the greatest talents in musical history and with NINA REVISITED: A Tribute to Nina Simone, REVIVE Music/RCA Records hope to celebrate the music, career and life of the legendary musician.

NINA REVISITED: A Tribute to Nina Simone Tracklisting
01 My Mama Could Sing (Intro) – Lisa Simone
02 Feeling Good – Ms. Lauryn Hill
03 I’ve Got Life – Ms. Lauryn Hill
04 Ne Me Quitte Pas – Ms. Lauryn Hill
05 Baltimore – Jazmine Sullivan
06 Love Me Or Leave Me – GRACE
07 My Baby Just Cares For Me – Usher
08 Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood – Mary J. Blige
09 Sinnerman – Gregory Porter
10 We Are Young Gifted & Black – Common & Lalah Hathaway
11 I Put A Spell On You – Alice Smith
12 I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl – Lisa Simone
13 Black Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair – Ms. Lauryn Hill    
14 Wild Is The Wind – Ms. Lauryn Hill
15 African Mailman (Instrumental)
16 I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free – Nina Simone